Australian Open Final

About three things I was absolutely positive. First, Stanislas Wawrinka dominated (almost) the whole match. Second, there was a part of him- and I didn’t know that he could play so well that lead to the defeat of Rafael Nadal. And third, I was utterly and completely disappointed about what happened within the match.

First of all, I would like to say congratulations to Li Na for her win against Dominika Cibulkova. She led her 7-6, 6-0. I would have to say, that wasn’t a surprise at all. I remember her saying that her coach made her do a workout boot camp, and then I thought, wow, that all just payed off. She also said that she was going to quit, and boy, am I glad she didn’t.

Now, I would like to talk about the men’s final. First set, Wawrinka just completely took the whole game. I thought, “It’s okay, Rafa always makes a comeback, no need to worry.” But as soon as second set rolled around, Rafa didn’t turn it around at all. Wawrinka kept hitting winning shots, and strong, dominating points. As soon as they were in around the middle of the match, Rafa started to get back pain.. AGAIN. Are you kidding me? He already recovered from it months ago. I was shocked. He started to slow down, make lousy shots, not running around the court to get to the ball. Obviously, he would do that, since his back was really hurting him. Then things got weird. Rafa won the third set. Maybe Wawrinka was feeling sorry for him, who knows. Fourth set, Wawrinka finished it with an easy winning streak. Thus, he became the first guy to beat the 1st and 2nd ranked players, and becoming the winner of the Australian Open.

There are two sides to this story.

Despite my hopes for Rafa to win, I have to give it to Wawrinka. I actually thought he played really well. He really improved, I was kinda impressed. There was nothing anybody could do, and that was just how well he played. Many congratulations to him.

Now, if Rafa hadn’t had his awful back pain, I am certain that he would have won. To my eyes and heart, he is the best player among all the other players. He started out fine, and I’m pretty sure that he knew how to win over Wawrinka. To me, I don’t think the spotlight is on Wawrinka at all. I think it’s still on Rafa, because he was so incredible with other little tournaments and other majors before the Australian Open. He’s made such an incredible comeback after his rest due to his injuries, and it’s unfortunate that he could not succeed in this major final. People will continually talk about the upset that happened, but they’ll always know that he’s been so incredible. It’s not everyday that a player can win every tournament and major, but they’ll always work hard so that KNOW they can.

What team? Rafa! What team? Rafa! What team? Rafa!

Rafa- get your head in the game!

Leave a Reply

